A drug possession charge in the State of Texas can carry some severe consequences. Depending on the specific charge, you could be facing as little as a fine to as much as 99 years in prison. Additionally, a conviction on a possession charge can result in a mandatory Driver’s License Suspension as well as effect your ability to get certain jobs, apply for loans and obtain housing.
The following factors are taken into consideration when determining type of Drug Possession Offense one will be facing and the punishment range it will carry:
- Type of Controlled Substance
- Volume or Quantity
- The manner in which the Drug was concealed or stored
- Whether Drug Paraphernalia was also found with the Drugs
- Whether large amounts of cash were also found
- Criminal history or prior convictions
Texas Law recognizes 5 different possession groups that differentiate between the type of controlled substance and sets punishment range based on the above factors. Among the five different penalty groups for Drug Possession Offenses, a person charged with a Drug Possession Offense could be facing jail time ranging from 180 days to 99 years and a fine ranging from $500 to $250,000 per offense.
If you are being charged with or are under investigation for a Drug Possession Offense, it is very important that you retain an experienced attorney as soon as possible to begin mounting a defense and to make sure that your rights are protected. Rest assured, at this moment the State is utilizing all of its vast resources against you.